Seewer & Suzuki World Mx2 Strong At Qatar Opener

(PresseBox) ( Bensheim, )
Team Suzuki World MX2 rider Jeremy Seewer gunned his RM-Z250 to a bright fourth place overall in tonight’s opening round of the FIM World MX2 Championship at Losail International Circuit in Qatar.

The Swiss entered the meeting a little downcast with the affects of a cold but a decent start in the first moto saw the 21 year old front the pack for two laps ahead of Dylan Ferrandis, but could not maintain the pace of his peers and nestled into a comfortable and satisfactory fourth by the chequered flag.

In the second race, Seewer was challenging for third spot when he made a small mistake and went down. He fought again to fourth and decided to risk catching Pauls Jonass; fully aware that passing the Latvian would put him onto the podium. Overstretching the limit forced another error and the former European Championship race winner had to accept fourth.

Team Suzuki World MX2 ended Saturday packing the bikes and efficient work station areas into the flight case and freight boxes to move immediately east. The crew flies from Doha to Bangkok in the coming days to acclimatise to higher temperatures and much more humidity with round two taking place at Suphan Buri in Thailand.

Jeremy Seewer:

“A really good feeling actually because yesterday I was sitting in my chair without any motivation. My body was quite weak and I was bunged-up. I rode quite well to fourth and then luckily felt much better today. I made a really good first moto and could lead some laps but needed to save some energy to make it through the whole day. The second moto was a similar story: I was pushing for third until a small mistake, came back to fourth and then decided to take a risk and go for the podium. I preferred to try instead of ‘following’… but another mistake came! Overall I’m happy with fourth. My speed is there and the speed from the bike is really good.”

Qatar MX2 Image Gallery: CLICK HERE FOR PHOTOS

MX2 Moto1: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:36.485; 2. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:02.127; 3. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), +0:36.086; 4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki MX2), +0:39.609; 5. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, Yamaha), +0:45.698; 6. Petar Petrov (BUL, Kawasaki), +0:46.475; 7. Samuele Bernardini (ITA, TM), +0:54.016; 8. Brent Van doninck (BEL, Yamaha), +1:00.550; 9. Jens Getteman (BEL, KTM), +1:08.121; 10. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +1:12.918; 11. Thomas Covington (USA, Husqvarna), +1:19.051; 12. Alvin Östlund (SWE, Yamaha), +1:21.324; 13. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +1:24.675; 14. Ben Watson (GBR, Husqvarna), +1:25.985; 15. Henry Jacobi (GER, Honda), +1:56.695; 16. Karel Kutsar (EST, KTM), -1 lap(s); 17. Damon Graulus (BEL, Honda), -1 lap(s); 18. Freek van der Vlist (NED, Kawasaki), -1 lap(s); 19. Maykal Grisha Ivanov (BUL, KTM), -1 lap(s); 20. Jorge Zaragoza (ESP, Honda), -1 lap(s); 21. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), -6 lap(s); 22. Vsevolod Brylyakov (RUS, Kawasaki), -7 lap(s); 23. Davy Pootjes (NED, KTM), -11 lap(s).

MX2 Moto2: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:39.257; 2. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:17.253; 3. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), +0:33.722; 4. Brent Van doninck (BEL, Yamaha), +0:35.284; 5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki MX2), +0:36.687; 6. Petar Petrov (BUL, Kawasaki), +0:38.114; 7. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, Yamaha), +0:39.889; 8. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +0:51.246; 9. Vsevolod Brylyakov (RUS, Kawasaki), +0:52.150; 10. Samuele Bernardini (ITA, TM), +1:07.939; 11. Jorge Zaragoza (ESP, Honda), +1:19.466; 12. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +1:22.199; 13. Damon Graulus (BEL, Honda), +1:24.406; 14. Ben Watson (GBR, Husqvarna), +1:25.592; 15. Thomas Covington (USA, Husqvarna), +1:40.219; 16. Jens Getteman (BEL, KTM), +1:44.040; 17. Alvin Östlund (SWE, Yamaha), +1:47.376; 18. Henry Jacobi (GER, Honda), +1:47.893; 19. Freek van der Vlist (NED, Kawasaki), +1:50.551; 20. Karel Kutsar (EST, KTM), -1 lap(s); 21. Maykal Grisha Ivanov (BUL, KTM), -16 lap(s); 22. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), -18 lap(s).

MX2 Overall Result & Championship Standings: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 50 points; 2. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, KAW), 44 p.; 3. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 40 p.; 4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki MX2), 34 p.; 5. Brent Van doninck (BEL, YAM), 31 p.; 6. Petar Petrov (BUL, KAW), 30 p.; 7. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, YAM), 30 p.; 8. Samuele Bernardini (ITA, TM), 25 p.; 9. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 17 p.; 10. Jens Getteman (BEL, KTM), 17 p.; 11. Thomas Covington (USA, HUS), 16 p.; 12. Ben Watson (GBR, HUS), 14 p.; 13. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 13 p.; 14. Alvin Östlund (SWE, YAM), 13 p.; 15. Vsevolod Brylyakov (RUS, KAW), 12 p.; 16. Damon Graulus (BEL, HON), 12 p.; 17. Jorge Zaragoza (ESP, HON), 11 p.; 18. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 11 p.; 19. Henry Jacobi (GER, HON), 9 p.; 20. Karel Kutsar (EST, KTM), 6 p.; 21. Freek van der Vlist (NED, KAW), 5 p.; 22. Maykal Grisha Ivanov (BUL, KTM), 2 p.; 23. Davy Pootjes (NED, KTM), 0 p.
The publisher indicated in each case is solely responsible for the press releases above, the event or job offer displayed, and the image and sound material used (see company info when clicking on image/message title or company info right column). As a rule, the publisher is also the author of the press releases and the attached image, sound and information material.
The use of information published here for personal information and editorial processing is generally free of charge. Please clarify any copyright issues with the stated publisher before further use. In the event of publication, please send a specimen copy to