Press release BoxID: 464208 (World Wind Energy Association)
  • World Wind Energy Association
  • Charles-de-Gaulle-Str. 5
  • 53113 Bonn
  • Contact person
  • Nicole Risse
  • +1 (416) 977-4441

WWEA Secretary General Stefan Gsänger receives International Community Power Award

Ontario Minister of Energy delivers keynote for Community Power Awards

(PresseBox) (Toronto/Bonn, ) The OSEA 2011 Community Power Awards were presented earlier this week on the occasion of the 3rd Community Power Conference in Toronto (Canada). The award winners are individuals who have made significant contributions to the Community Power movement in Ontario and globally. WWEA Secretary General Stefan Gsänger was honored as an International Community Power Leader for his contribution to the worldwide promotion of community power.

The award presentation followed a keynote speech by Chris Bentley, Ontario's Minister of Energy. The awards were presented by Kristopher Stevens, the Executive Director of the Ontario Sustainable Energy Association OSEA. In his reply, Stefan Gsänger dedicated the Award to all friends, colleagues and supporters who have helped to advance community power all over the world, and he thanked especially his colleagues in Ontario for their groundbreaking work.

The 2011 Community Power Award winners are:

- International Community Power Leader Award: Stefan Gsänger, World Wind Energy Association, Secretary General
- Community Power Leader Award: Mike Brigham, President of TREC Solar Share
- Urban Community Power Leader Award: Farrah Khan, Canadian Association of Physicians for the Environment
- Aboriginal Community Power Leader Award: Byron LeClair, Director of Community Development, Pic River First Nation
- Rural Community Power Leader Award: Don McCabe, Vice-President, Ontario Federation of Agriculture

The Community Power Conference 2011 is one of the single largest annual gathering of Community Power producers, proponents and supporters. The conference attracts industry regulators, commercial and Community Power generators, farmers and First Nation and Métis delegations.