Marathon Petroleum Corporation Announces Election of Three New Directors

(PresseBox) ( Baar, )
Marathon Petroleum Corporation (NYSE:MPC), the nation's fifth largest refiner with an extensive marketing and transportation network, today announced that former Senator Evan Bayh, Donna A. James and John P. Surma were elected to the company's board of directors, effective July 5, 2011. MPC was spun-off from Marathon Oil Corporation on June 30, 2011.

"We are pleased to have these outstanding leaders become part of our board. Each brings a wide variety of experiences and valuable business perspectives that will help chart the path of Marathon Petroleum ," said Thomas J. Usher, the company's non-executive chairman of the board. "They are joining a board comprised of accomplished people who recognize the many challenges and opportunities ahead." Their election increases the size of the board to 10.

Evan Bayh, former U.S. senator and governor of Indiana, has served in leadership positions beginning in 1986 with his election as Indiana's secretary of state. In 1988, he was elected governor. After two terms, Bayh was elected U.S. senator where he served for 12 years. He served on numerous committees including Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs; Armed Services; Energy and Natural Resources; the Select Committee on Intelligence; Small Business and Entrepreneurship; and the Special Committee on Aging, holding key leadership roles on several. During his time in office, he focused on job creation, national security, small business growth and many other issues of importance.

Currently, Senator Bayh is a senior advisor at Apollo Global Management and in the law firm of McGuireWoods LLC.

Bayh graduated with a bachelor in business economics from Indiana University in 1978 and received his law degree from the University of Virginia in 1981.

Donna A. James is the managing director of Lardon & Associates, LLC, a business and executive advisory services firm. Additionally, she is a corporate director for public companies including Time Warner Cable, Coca-Cola Enterprises and Limitedbrands, Inc. James' experience includes leadership positions with Nationwide Insurance and Financial Services where she served as president, Nationwide Strategic Investments. Prior to that, she was executive vice president - chief administrative officer and held other executive positions including executive vice president and chief human resources officer. James' responsibilities included leading several U.S. and international based subsidiary companies, a venture capital fund, and new business development teams with responsibility for emerging opportunities in financial services.

James was appointed by President Barack Obama as chairwoman of the National Women's Business Council, a non-partisan advisory council to the president, Congress and the Small Business Administration on economic development of women owned businesses. She graduated from North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University with a bachelor of science degree in accounting.

John P. Surma is chairman and chief executive officer of United States Steel Corporation (USS) and has served in various executive leadership positions at USS since 2002. Prior to USS, in 1997 Surma joined Marathon Oil Company as senior vice president, finance & accounting. He was named president, Speedway SuperAmerica LLC in 1998, and senior vice president, supply & transportation of Marathon Ashland Petroleum LLC (MAP) in 2000. He was appointed president of MAP in 2001. Prior to joining Marathon, Surma worked for Price Waterhouse LLP where he was admitted to the partnership in 1987.

Surma is a member of the board of directors of The Bank of New York Mellon Corporation and serves as treasurer of the board of directors of the World Steel Association. He is also a member of the board of directors of the American Iron and Steel Institute and has previously held various leadership roles in this organization. Surma is currently a member of both the National Petroleum Council and The Business Council. He was appointed by President Barack Obama to the president's Advisory Committee for Trade Policy and Negotiations and serves as vice chairman.

Surma graduated from Pennsylvania State University with a bachelor of science degree in accounting.

Bayh, James and Surma join Marathon Petroleum's current board members David A. Daberko, William L. Davis, Gary R. Heminger, Charles R. Lee, Seth E. Schofield, John W. Snow and Thomas J. Usher.
The publisher indicated in each case is solely responsible for the press releases above, the event or job offer displayed, and the image and sound material used (see company info when clicking on image/message title or company info right column). As a rule, the publisher is also the author of the press releases and the attached image, sound and information material.
The use of information published here for personal information and editorial processing is generally free of charge. Please clarify any copyright issues with the stated publisher before further use. In the event of publication, please send a specimen copy to