Dr Winfried Hoffmann re-elected as President of EPIA until 2010

(PresseBox) ( Brussels, )
The European Photovoltaic Industry Association (EPIA) celebrated its Annual General Meeting on Thursday 19 March 2009. The assembly re-elected Dr. Winfried Hoffmann from Applied Materials GmbH as President until 2010 and elected Anton Milner, from Q-Cells SE, as Vice-President. Stephan Hansen from First Solar GmbH entered the Board as Director.

The EPIA Annual General Meeting organised in Frankfurt on 19 March 2009 was a privileged occasion to celebrate EPIA surpassing the landmark figure of 200 members and share the association's strategic orientations for the coming years. It was also the opportunity to fill the seat of President, vacant since October 2008 with the resignation of Ernesto Macias.

Members re-elected Dr. Winfried Hoffmann as President of the association until 2010 by 82% of votes. Dr. Winfried Hoffmann is currently VP and Chief Technology Officer of the Solar Business Group at Applied Materials GmbH. He has nearly 30 years experience in the solar PV business.

Anton Milner was elected Vice-President by 78% of votes. Anton Milner is Chief Executive Officer and co-founder of Q-Cells SE. He has been involved in the PV sector since 2000.

Stephan Hansen was elected as Board Director among 8 candidates. Stephan Hansen holds the position of Managing Director at First Solar GmbH. He was born and educated in Germany and graduated from the University of Stuttgart in 1993 with a masters degree in Mechanical Engineering. After that he worked in the fields of business process re-engineering, optimisation of production and strategy & new business development. Before joining First Solar as Managing Director in 2004, he worked for three years in the PV sector in managerial positions for companies of distribution, system integration and module manufacturing in Germany and the US. As Managing Director at First Solar GmbH, he is responsible for worldwide sales of modules, customer service and the implementation of Business Development strategies in EMEA.

The EPIA Board of Directors is now composed of:

President 2009-2010:
Dr. Winfried Hoffmann, Applied Materials GmbH, VP and Chief Technology Officer

Dr. Murray Cameron, Phoenix Solar AG, Chief Operating Officer
Boris Klebensberger, SolarWorld AG, Chief Technology Officer
Anton Milner, Q-Cells SE, Chief Executive Officer

Günther Cramer, SMA Technologies AG, Member of the Management Board
Christian Langen, Sovello AG, Chief Sales and Marketing Officer
Michael Harre, SCHOTT Solar GmbH, Chief Sales Officer
Stephan Hansen, First Solar GmbH, Managing Director

Note to editors

With more than 200 Members drawn from across the entire solar electricity sector, the European Photovoltaic Industry Association is the world's largest photovoltaic industry association and represents about 95% of the European photovoltaic industry. EPIA members are present throughout the whole value-chain: from silicon, cells and module production to systems development. EPIA's mission is to deliver a distinct and valuable service driven from the strength of a single photovoltaic voice.
Für die oben stehenden Pressemitteilungen, das angezeigte Event bzw. das Stellenangebot sowie für das angezeigte Bild- und Tonmaterial ist allein der jeweils angegebene Herausgeber (siehe Firmeninfo bei Klick auf Bild/Meldungstitel oder Firmeninfo rechte Spalte) verantwortlich. Dieser ist in der Regel auch Urheber der Pressetexte sowie der angehängten Bild-, Ton- und Informationsmaterialien.
Die Nutzung von hier veröffentlichten Informationen zur Eigeninformation und redaktionellen Weiterverarbeitung ist in der Regel kostenfrei. Bitte klären Sie vor einer Weiterverwendung urheberrechtliche Fragen mit dem angegebenen Herausgeber. Bei Veröffentlichung senden Sie bitte ein Belegexemplar an service@pressebox.de.