Press release BoxID: 852311 (Rheinmetall AG)
  • Rheinmetall AG
  • Rheinmetall Platz 1
  • 40476 Düsseldorf
  • Contact person
  • Oliver Hoffmann
  • +49 (211) 4734748

New Rheinmetall AG supervisory board elected - Ulrich Grillo succeeds Klaus Greinert

(PresseBox) (Düsseldorf, ) Rheinmetall AG of Düsseldorf has a new chairman of the supervisory board. Following the tech group’s annual general meeting on 9 May 2017 in Berlin, the supervisory board elected Ulrich Grillo as its new chairman. Mr Grillo succeeds Klaus Greinert who after 15 successful years as chairman stepped down from the Rheinmetall supervisory board at the end of the annual shareholder meeting.

Ulrich Grillo is the chairman of Grillo-Werke AG and served from 2013 to 2016 as president of the Federal Association of German Industry, or BDI. He has already held a senior executive post at Rheinmetall, serving from 1993 to 2001 as chief financial officer of the former Rheinmetall DeTec AG, the defence technology arm of Rheinmetall AG. Mr Grillo has been a member of the supervisory board of Rheinmetall AG since 2016.

Professor Dr Frank Richter also departed the supervisory board, having served as a member for over ten years. The executive board of Rheinmetall AG wishes to thank Klaus Greinert and Professor Dr Frank Richter for their longstanding work and service on behalf of the Group.

Representing the Rheinmetall AG supervisory board’s shareholder side, two new members were elected: Dr Franz-Josef Jung and Dr.-Ing. Klaus Draeger. Dr Jung was a member of the German government from 2005 to 2009, serving as defence minister and labour minister. Dr.-Ing. Klaus Draeger previously served on the executive board of BMW AG.

Furthermore, the general meeting also voted to extend the terms of supervisory board members Professor Dr Susanne Hannemann and Professor Dr Andreas Georgi through to the end of the 2021 shareholder meeting. Professor Dr Marion A. Weissenberger-Eibl, Detlef Moog and Klaus-Günter Vennemann also continue to serve as members of the supervisory board on the shareholder side.

The staff representatives on the supervisory board were already selected in a Group-wide election in March 2017. The representatives of the non-executive staff on the new supervisory board are Roswitha Armbruster, Dagmar Muth, Markus Schaubel, Sven Schmidt and Reinhard Müller.

Dr Michael Mielke was elected to represent executive members of the Rheinmetall staff, while Dr Rudolf Luz (deputy chairman) and Daniel Hay serve as trade union representatives on the supervisory board.

Website Promotion